Another long cold winter has led to a long slow fermentation for this year’s cider. This slow process will give a good flavour and the maturing cider should be ready to drink by April so I intend making Salt Hill Cider available for sale on the first of that month, April Fools Day!

This year’s cider was as usual made entirely from local fruit that would otherwise have gone to waste and to complete the “green” process I now have a local pig farmer who is taking all the waste apple pulp to feed his swine  so every bit of the apples is being used with no waste.

Last year I produced 1000 litres and this was all sold before the autumn of 2010 and I still had enquiries for orders that I had to turn down. Because of the growing interest and demand I decided to try to increase production for this year and have managed to make 1500 litres for this year thanks to my new assistant Keith Smith who generously offered to help me reach my new target.

We started collecting and pressing apples on the first of October and finished the last batch on the first of December in sub-zero temperatures in snow covered orchards.

This year will also see my new labels with the latest Salt Hill Cider logo in use, many thanks to Simon Smith for designing these for me.

All being well I hope to be able to offer a new cider “Cookham Orchard” this year to supplement my standard cider; Cookham Orchard was made from an un-identified variety of apple from a single orchard in Cookham Dean and hopefully will produce an interesting addition to my range.

This year’s increased production will mean that I should be able to increase the number of pubs and beer festivals that I can supply and I have a few new outlets that I expect to get my cider into in addition to my present customer base. If you know of any pubs that might be interested in stocking some Salt Hill Cider please pass on my details.

I am hoping to continue to build up a wide range of local pubs stocking their local cider and again hope to provide cider for for the following pubs and events;
The Bell in Waltham St Lawrence, The Bird In Hand in Knowl Hill, The Royal Standard in Wooburn Common,The Wheatsheaf in Slough, more to follow.

Local CAMRA beer festivals that I hope to supply again this year are; Reading, Ealing, Windsor, Ascot, Woking and I will also be at the Windsor Racecourse Cider Festival which will be a great evening of quality ciders and racing on Monday June 27th.

I am looking forward to another exciting year for Salt Hill Cider and meeting old nd new cider fans throughout the coming year.

Wassail!
Greg Davies

